Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Surface charge decay

1. Jul 10, 2013 #1
    I am a chemical engineer and have little experience with complicated electrical properties. I was wondering if there was a way to calculate the rate at which the surface charge of a particle will dissipate when it comes in contact with an electrode of the opposite charge. For example a small particle of polypropylene that has a negative charge on the surface contacting an aluminum plate that has a high positive voltage on it with respect to ground. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 10, 2013 #2
    There are so many variables in this example, that it may be easiest to just perform tests.

4. Jul 10, 2013 #3
    Well I wouldn't even know where to begin to perform tests, but I do know most of these variables. I know the voltage on the plate, the charge density of the particle along with the size, and the shape can be approximated as spherical. I can find most material properties online, but what I really need is to have a relationship that can give me the approximate amount of charge that is lost during an impact of the particle on the plate.

5. Jul 10, 2013 #4

dlgoff

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

This sounds like something to be researched. e.g. http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/login.jsp?tp=&arnumber=1387828&url=http%3A%2F%2Fieeexplore.ieee.org%2Fxpls%2Fabs_all.jsp%3Farnumber%3D1387828

I think you'll need to know the material's (polypropylene) electrical conductivity and it appears that this is being researched also. i.e. Electrical conductivity of polypropylene

6. Jul 11, 2013 #5
    There were some experiments where they were trying to measure the charge of one electron.
    They would charge a small particle and keep it at a constant height between two plates that were at different voltages.