Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Suspension for bicycle

1. Jan 2, 2017 #1
    Hello,
    I need to know what is the best type of susension system for bicycles.And also rating of a motor to drive a 5 kg load.I am still studying B E .Please it is urgent. Thaks for helping.

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 2, 2017 #2

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hello Hareesh, :welcome:

Best type of suspension for what bicycle ? Racer bikes have no suspension; mountain bikes have front and rear, my commuter bike has front only (and I don't like it).

A BE student should understand a specification like "drive a 5 kg load" is inadequate. Does it have to lift 5 kg in a month ? Then a toy motor is good enough.

4. Jan 3, 2017 #3

For running a flywheel.I am sorry it is a 15 kg flywheel.The suspension should withstand an overall of 90-100 kg.So can you prefer a cheap one, please?

5. Jan 3, 2017 #4

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

I'm very weak at telepathy. What's this about ? Running a 15 kg flywheel with a "5 kg load" motor, designing suspension for a racing bike that carries 5kg load, a 15 kg flywheel plus a motor and perhaps also a car battery ?
    :smile:

6. Jan 5, 2017 #5
    Hareesh your questions are not clear ,I think there are two things which need two answers

7. Jan 7, 2017 #6
    No its a 15 kg flywheel,not a 5 kg load.The cycle carries the flywheel, motor and the driver.

8. Jan 7, 2017 #7

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Why not just use standard mountain bike suspension components? They come in a wide range of prices...

http://www.davescheapbikes.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/cheap-dual-suspension-mountain-bikes.png
    cheap-dual-suspension-mountain-bikes.png

9. Jan 8, 2017 #8

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member