Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Syncronous generator

1. Nov 17, 2011 #1

ffp

Hi, i'm a electrical engineering student and i have a question conserning synchronous machines, more precisely a sinchronous generator.

Considering that's no change in load, the increase of the field current of the rotor would imply in a change in the torque angle?

I need a detailed explanation e if possible a reference.

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 17, 2011 #2

dlgoff

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Wouldn't a greater field excitation increase the torque?

4. Nov 18, 2011 #3

gerbi

Gold Member

In this case it's obvious, that changes of excitation field affects torque angle..
    P=const. U=const. If=variab. Q=variab. -> variable reactive power means angle between stator and rotor fields must change -> theta=variab.

refereces ? use google, please..

constant torque on synchronous speed (from turbine or else) means constant real power. In this case the real part of stator current is constant, imaginaris part of stator current changes.

Last edited: Nov 18, 2011
  5. Nov 18, 2011 #4

ffp

Thanks for the help, you confirmed what i was thinking. But i need to prove to a friend of mine with strong arguments.

How exactly reactive power affects the angle between rotor and stator field?

What is U?

Mathematically this could be proved with this formula:

P=3 Vt Ea sin(δ) / Xs

P=const. ; Ea increase with If; Vt increase with Ea; Xs= const. Then sin(δ) must decrease to maintain P constant and therefore, δ must also decrease.

Is that correct?

This could be proven with phasors diagram?

6. Nov 18, 2011 #5

gerbi

Gold Member

It would be rather, how angle affects power.. angle between fields is strictly connected with power. Angle between fields is the same angle as between stator current and voltage.

U is voltage