How can I solve overdetermined systems of equations using GSL?

In summary, the speaker is looking for suggestions on how to solve an overdetermined system of equations with additional constraints using the GNU Scientific Library. Possible solutions include using numerical optimization techniques, genetic algorithms, or a symbolic mathematical solver.
csopi
Hi,
I need to solve the following system of equations:

qa = fa (qa, qb, qc, qd)
qb = fb (qa, qb, qc, qd)
qc = fc (qa, qb, qc, qd)
qd = fd (qa, qb, qc, qd)

where all the variables and functions are complex. However, there are some additional constraints for the variables, let's call them

na (qa, qb, qc, qd) = 1
nb (qa, qb, qc, qd) = 1
nc (qa, qb, qc, qd) = 1
nd (qa, qb, qc, qd) = 1

My problem is, that if I take into account the constraints, the system will be overdetermined (4 variables, 8 equations). However, it is known, that it still has a lot of solutions.

I am quite new to GSL (GNU Scientific Library), and I do not know, how to solve overdetermined systems and I cannot find anything in the manual either.

Do you have any suggestions?

Technology news on Phys.org