Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Taking bacteria from skin

1. Mar 20, 2006 #1
    How do you take bacteria from skin and which is the part :rolleyes: most concetrated with them?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 20, 2006 #2
    A simple skin scraping works wonders, or even a swab depending on where you take the sample. I'm no expert, but I would assume the highest concentration would be in areas of high humidity (the toes, groin area, etc.) The armpits would probably be a problem if a lot of anti-bacterial underarm deaodorant is used.

4. Mar 20, 2006 #3

Ouabache

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Also going along with daveb's idea of skin areas of high humidity, inside your mouth and anus, both have high concentrations of bacteria. You might even try inside the folds of skin of your bellybutton. You typically sample those areas with a cotton swab and apply to suitable media in a culture plate or slant.

That reminds me of an interesting comment related by a bio professor; the surface inside your mouth (throat, esophagus, stomach, intestines) to your anus, it is considered external to your body. It is continuous with your skin in a cylindrical path through your body, one continuous integument.

Last edited: Mar 20, 2006
  5. Mar 20, 2006 #4

Math Is Hard

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Now there's something interesting to throw in with the old joke about the topologist who can't tell a donut from a coffee cup! :rofl:

6. Mar 20, 2006 #5

Curious3141

Homework Helper

Sampling skin for bacteria can be done as simply as touching a sterile agar plate with your finger (then streaking it out).

This basic method, is, in fact, used in some hospital infection control studies to evaluate the magnitude of skin bacterial carriage, where health care workers press their palms against agar plates.