1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Tapping in power systems

1. Jul 29, 2015 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    What is meant by the term tapping in power system , I studied in my textbook that generally from feeders no tapping is taken to the consumers , therefore current loading of feeder remains the same along its length. I was not getting what is being referred here ..?

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution
    I am familiar with the tapping we use in case of transformer which is the varying the number of turns , which further changes the voltage ratio.. Is this the same sense tapping in power supply system is being used??

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2015
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 29, 2015 #2
    Unless there is a definition I am not aware of, tapping is exactly what you describe.

Primary substation transformers (generally) have on-load tap changers via a diverter and a large number of taps. There are many methods to automatically control the tap when you have two or more transformers in parallel - master/slaves; TAPP ; circulating current etc...

Secondary substation transformers and pole-mounted transformers have off load tap changers and just a few taps (usually about 5) which are set when the transformer is installed. Off load is a bit of a misnmoer, becasue the transformer has not only to be off load but isolated.

4. Jul 30, 2015 #3

NascentOxygen

Staff: Mentor