Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Taylor Series

1. Nov 17, 2005 #1

kreil

Gold Member

So I'm studying Taylor Series (I work ahead of my calc class so that when we cover topics I already know them and they are easier to study..) and tonight I found a formula for taylor series and maclaurin series, and i used them to prove eulers identity. However, I don't really know much about taylor or maclaurin series. I have a couple questions...

(i) How was the formula [tex]T(x)=\sum_{n=0}^\infty \frac{f^n(a)}{n!}(x-a)^n+R_n[/tex] derived?

(ii) Is there a definite result for the remainder term Rn(I have seen cauchys and lagranges, im just wondering if they are different forms of the same thing or if its still open)?

(iii) What exactly is a Taylor series (what is it used for)? I only know that the formula produces a series of functions which, if combined, construct the original function.

(iv) If anyone could offer up some interesting but difficult problems in relation to taylor series, maclaurin series, or power series, I would appreciate it.

Josh

Last edited: Nov 17, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 17, 2005 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor