Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Teaching voltage

1. Apr 18, 2006 #1
    Hi, I am a teacher (new) and have never taught Physics before... GULP.

I have a learning outcome I must teach and am unsure of how to best do it. It is in the grade 10 (S2) Gen Science...

I must define voltage (electrical potential difference) as the energy per unit charge between 2 points along a conductor and solve related problems. Include: V = E/Q

Basically, I need to put this into understandable notes my students can use without the help of a textbook.

I also want to make about 5 practice problems for the students to work through...and an answer key.

Does anyone have any ideas? :bugeye:
    Help!
    Thanks,
    Matt

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 18, 2006 #2

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Wikipedia explains it quite well, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voltage although you may have to paraphrase somewhat. When I was at high school I would intially tought about voltage using the hydraulic pressure analogy, but I was never a fan.

Regards,
    ~H

4. Apr 18, 2006 #3

rbj

for secondary school, you can use a hydrological analog. a quantity of water that weighs one Newton is a colomb (the mass would be 1 Nt/g where g is 9.8 m/s2). current would be measured as how much water (measured in "coulombs")) passes past a point in a pipe per unit time. an ampere would be 1 "coulomb" per second.