1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Teaching yourself chemistry

1. Oct 27, 2014 #1
    After 20 years of being a locksmith, I have decided that I want to get a college degree and I'll be starting next year! As part of my degree, I will be doing two chemistry courses which will cover:

- Intermolecular forces, chemical equilibrium, energy considerations and chemical reactivity applied to aspects of chemistry and biochemistry
    - Structure of the atom and molecular bonding
    - Chemistry of the metals and non-metals
    - Bonding in transition (d-block elements, coordination complexes, bioinorganic systems)
    - Aspects of acid/base equilibria, kinetics and electrochemical processes
    - Importance of molecular shape and how chemists determine the structure of compounds using spectroscopic techniques including ultraviolet, infrared and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy
    - Chemical synthesis with reference to addition and subtraction reactions
    - Strategies for synthesis and properties of biologically significant molecules

The problem? It has been two decades since I've touched any textbook, let alone a chemistry textbook, yet I need to learn chemistry from 'what is chemistry?' to first year college chemistry that is rigorous and has a lot of math in it.

If you were in my situation, what would your strategy be? Should I be able to start from a university chemistry textbook?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 28, 2014 #2

Maylis

Gold Member