Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Stargazing Telescope Recomendation

1. Jan 13, 2010 #1
    I am wondering if I can have a good telescope recommended to me, I am deeply interested in astronomy and astrophysics and would like to be able to view astrophysical phenomena and objects on my own. Even if you can't recommend a good telescope, could you please reference a guide or something for what are good products when making this decision?
    Keep in mind that I am an undergrad right now, so a pretty strict budget is in need.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 13, 2010 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

What does a "pretty strict budget" mean and what type of phenomena, specifically, are you most interested in?

4. Jan 13, 2010 #3
    Here is a site that has a very complete set of reviews and recommendations.

http://www.scopereviews.com/

Click on the link "Beginner's Advice on Buying Telescopes - READ THIS FIRST "

That should get you started.

Regards,

Mike

5. Jan 13, 2010 #4

turbo

Gold Member