What is the Formula for Calculating Tension in Physics?

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of tension in physics and how to calculate it in different situations. The formula for tension in a vertical string is T = m * g, while for an inclined string it is T = m * g / cos(θ). For a horizontal string, the tension is equal to the force needed to overcome other forces acting on the object. In more complex systems involving pulleys and springs, other factors such as mechanical advantage and Hooke's Law need to be considered. The formula for tension in a spring is F = k * x. It is important to note that in real-world situations, other factors such as friction and air resistance can also affect tension.
liuquinlin
Hello... I'm brand new to Physics, going into 9th grade and got put into AP Physics BC so I got a large packet of Physics work and was told to learn the material and do all the work. I've been sort of stressed out since I barely understood half the questions, much less knew where to begin solving them. But hopefully this forum will be able to help me out.

This isn't really a question for a specific problem so I can really use the template. So my question is, is there a formula for tension? In other words, how would I find the tension on a string attached to a mass. I know that if the forces were equal then the tension = the weight, but what should I do if the mass is being pulled upwards/lowered downwards? I think the formula would be something like: Tension = Weight +/- Mass * Acelleration, but how would I write that scientifically?

Thanks in advance, and sorry for not using the template...

Physics news on Phys.org