Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Terms explanation

1. Oct 26, 2012 #1
    Hello All,

I am new to GR, studying slowly. I am little bit confused between the following terms and their usage:

(a) Co & contra variant vectors - Do they help in transformation?

(b) What is a co-ordinate free system? Do co & contra variant vectors help it?

(c) What is parallel transport? Do parallel transport someway related to co-ordinate free system?

(d) A invariant system -- is someway related to the above concepts?

I am just looking for a descriptive explanation on the concepts of the above things.

Thanks,

-- Shounak

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 26, 2012 #2

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

(a) See this post and the posts that are linked to at the end of it. (You can skip the first paragraph).

(b) I doubt that you got that term right. Can you post an exact quote of what you read, or even better, a link to the page at Google Books?