Building a Tesla Coil: A Student Guide

In summary, the purpose of the tank circuit in a Tesla coil is to increase the operating frequency of the secondary coil.
MacDaddio
Hello everyone,

I am interested in building a Tesla coil for fun and education. I am an EE student in my junior year of college, so I have most of the basics down, but I'd like to learn a little more so that I do not set my house on fire. I've been going through the principals of Tesla coils, and I have made a few assumptions. Most of my information has been from the wiki page on Tesla coils.

The main idea behind the Tesla coil is to have a small-ish AC voltage source stepped up into the kV range in order to have dielectric breakdown of air. My first assumption is that the "spark gap" and tank circuit are used to minimize resistance to secondary coil. My second assumption is that the resonant frequency of the tank circuit must be much larger than the 60 Hz main. This is because the tank circuit has to see the input voltage as practically DC in order to charge the capacitor.

Please let me know if I'm wrong, as I'm very interested in this project. If anyone has a good source of information on Tesla coils, please link it! Most of the search results I get on Google are videos showing how cool they are. Which isn't very helpful in understanding them.

Engineering news on Phys.org
MacDaddio said:
My first assumption is that the "spark gap" and tank circuit are used to minimize resistance to secondary coil.
Spark gap is used to perform role of a switch. Capacitor is used to store energy before the "switch" gets closed. Than, the tank circuit (primary LC circuit) starts to discharge at high frequency. Secondary circuit should resonate at same frequency to pick up that energy via magnetic coupling.