1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Text Book for Electrodynamics

1. Feb 16, 2010 #1
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 16, 2010 #2
    Griffith's is one of the best textbooks I've used, (except for the treatment of laplace's equation which killed me when I was a sophomore without a little bit of outside knowledge of the most basic of PDE's), maybe you could find it in a library. No it doesn't require linear algebra.

4. Feb 16, 2010 #3
    I'm almost done with calculus 3, do you think I'll be fine if I jump right into it after finishing calculus?

5. Feb 16, 2010 #4
    Yea I'd say that's the standard prep. I guess you should probably have some brief knowledge of ODE's. Like I said I got killed in chapter 3. My prof could not understand at all what my problem was so that didn't help. Reading the first chapter in any intro to PDE's book would have made my life so much easier. But I'd say just dive in and if find a certain part the be very difficult maybe there's a reason why :smile:.

6. Feb 16, 2010 #5
    Should I have any background knowledge of other physics such as mechanics or anything?

7. Feb 16, 2010 #6
    Yes you should have a 2-3 semester intro physics sequence preferably.

8. Feb 17, 2010 #7
    You could look for the paperback edition of the book you mentioned which is half prize.

9. Feb 17, 2010 #8
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2017
  10. Feb 18, 2010 #9
    So it looks like I'm going for the soft cover Griffith's one. I really have no knowledge of ODE's or PDE's, will I get lost without any knowledge of the?

11. Feb 19, 2010 #10