Solving Abel Equation: Step-by-Step Guide

• Thread starter saltydog
  • Start date
In summary, the equation is solved by finding a suitable change of variable that will facilitate evaluation of the first iterated integral and then solving the resulting integral equation.
saltydog
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
I wish to study the Abel equation and think it's solution involves several aspects of Calculus that others here may find interesting. I'll post the derivation of the solution in steps; that helps me learn it and I hope will provide incentive to others to comment about the process. I'm not really good with integral equations and welcome any comments; my understanding is quite lacking. I just like them and see the potential of them (and IDEs) being used in artificial intelligence.

Here's the equation:

[tex]f(x)=\int_0^x{\frac{\phi(y)}{\sqrt{x-y}}}[/tex]

With [itex] f(x)[/itex] given and [itex]\phi(x)[/itex] to be determined.

The first step in solving the equation is to define an integral operator, that is, an operator which takes a function and processes it with an integral. For this problem, Abel used the following integral operator:

[tex]I[f(x)]=\int_0^\xi{\frac{f(x)dx}{\sqrt{\xi-x}}}[/tex]

Thus, applying this operator to both sides of the equation yields:

[tex]\int_0^\xi{\frac{f(x)dx}{\sqrt{\xi-x}}}=\int_0^\xi{\frac{dx}{\sqrt{\xi-x}}}\int_0^x{\frac{\phi(y)}{\sqrt{x-y}}}dy[/tex]

The order of integration on the RHS needs to be changed next.

Physics news on Phys.org
Switching the order of integration

It's easy for me to switch the order of integration when I consider the integral in the following form:

[tex]\int_0^\xi\int_0^x f(x,y;\xi)dydx[/tex]

The area of integration is then the triangular region under the graph [itex]y=x[/itex] in the range [itex][0,\xi][/itex]. In this case, the integral becomes:

[tex]\int_0^\xi\int_y^\xi f(x,y;\xi)dxdy[/tex]

And thus: