Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The Dream Thread (oooooh)

1. Oct 8, 2007 #1
    this has probably been done before, but I love talking about dreams! everyone has all sorts of cool dreams, and for some reason it's not something that people talk about nearly enough! my friends always want to hear my dreams (I have really really weird dreams), but then they never return the favor and tell me theirs!

A weird thing about my dreams is that the plot nearly always somehow involves a toilet.— The toilet is either the source of conflict, or the dream revolves around my quest for a toilet... when I wake up, I don't have to pee... so it's not driven by a physical need to urinate. weird.

Sometimes the toilets are just in the background of the main plot... in one dream I was a soldier, and the final battle took place in a run-down public bathroom, where each stall was a trench used for battle.

Sometimes the image of the toilet is absurdly Godlike: my science teacher from high-school school is running after me, trying to kill me or something. looking for refuge, I stumble into the most glorious bathroom! rows upon rows of gigantic golden toilets! all of them much too tall to actually be usable.— in my search for truth, I find a toilet.

My dreams also often have recurring characters: the three government officials, the old doctor with a syringe, the disappointed middle-aged woman, the store owner who won't let me touch anything, the animal or creature I have to protect, the animal or creature that is trying to harm me, the unreachable purple building or city far away... all these are recurring themes and characters in nearly all of my dreams; it's very strange.

I'll write down a whole dream some other time. some involve talking cattle who want me to tell them jokes, others rabid turkeys guarding a castle in the sky...