Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The end as we know it?

1. Jan 23, 2009 #1
    hey my name is nick im very new to this kind of thing. i just had a few questions about the end of the known universe, dark energy and dark matter and how it will end the current universe.

first of all i would like to ask a couple of my own questions.

1. ok, so the big bang created or expanded the known universe?
    2. do we know where the center of the known universe is?
    3. if we dont than is it possible that due to the size of the of the big bang there could be an area in the universe that has unthinkable amount of gravity from wich not even light cannot escape creating an orbit for the universes many galaxies and therefore creating the illusion that the universe is expanding?(much like how our galaxy but on a larger scale)

if i sound stupid in any way please correct me and if there is anyone out there that can help me that would be great. im very, very new to this so go easy on me.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 23, 2009 #2

marcus

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2015 Award
    Dearly Missed

No the big bang model does not go back to a moment of creation. At any point where you can run the model, the universe already exists.

Have a look at Einstein-online's page on the big bang.
    http://www.einstein-online.info/en/spotlights/cosmology/index.html
    Their page called "A tale of two big bangs" is especially worth reading.

Yes indeed we do! We are at the center of that part of the universe which we can observe.
    The most distant matter from which we are now receiving is an estimated 46 billion lightyears from us in all directions. The observable part of the universe is a spherical volume with us at the center.

We do, so your question doesn't apply.
    =============================