1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The first lesson of relativity

1. Mar 15, 2007 #1
    :rolleyes: At first I must admit that I am a novice, know a little about physics. The analysis below most probably full of flaws.
    We know that t=t0/{1-(v/c)^2}, t0 is the time experienced by a person traveling at v speed in a space ship, t is the time that is experienced by a stationary observer on the earth.
    None of the reference frame is more fundamental than other. So we can assume the space ship to be stationary and the planet earth is in motion( i.e -v). So easily opposite of the formula can be proven. That is : t0=t/{1-(v/c)^2},
    In the first case time is dilated for the spaceman. And in the second it is true for the person on the earth. Which one is the truth? If both, How possible!

Let's think of a particular case, a vehicle can travel at such speed that it can dilate time, 5 fold than a stationary observer (relative to the earth). So for every ticking of second in a clock placed inside the vehicle, there will be 5 on the clock of a stationary observer. Let's place two stationary clock along the path of the vehicle. Say, the vehicle meet the first clock when both clock gave the same reading. Let it be 00:00. When the vehicle rider reached the second clock his clock showed that one second has passed( i.e 00:01). So the reading on the stationary clock would be 00:05.
    This strongly shows that time ONLY dilated for the vehicle rider.