Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The Game by Neil Strauss?

1. Mar 31, 2013 #1
    "The Game" by Neil Strauss?

Has anyone here read "The Game" by Neil Strauss? In the book, Neil Strauss writes how he went from a nerd to a world-class pick-up artist. I read the first 2/3s of it, after that it's just drama and whining. Read wikipedia for more information.

Initially I was sceptical of this "how to pick up girls" stuff, I'm a student of science after-all, but the more of the "tricks" I read, the more I was convinced it was just common sense. For the most part, the main schools advocate ordinary stuff like confidence, be unique, be funny, try to surprise etc. Stuff I already knew about charming girls. What I like though, is how everything is organized in several relatively scientific systems for pick-up called "theories", and how it provides tactics, basic psychology, pick-up material and examples of how it is used.

That said, there also are several shady and morally controversial theories, like using hypnosis to trick girls, or shady guys trying to suck money out of desperate men.

Anyway, opinions? Imo, it's good to have a more structured and in-depth alternative to the typical "be yourself" or "just be nice" etc. advice given out around here. To me, reading this stuff is almost like when I read physics. I can't wait to try this stuff out next weekend.

Last edited: Mar 31, 2013
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 31, 2013 #2

Evo

Staff: Mentor

I don't like phony people, so I say "be yourself" and "just be nice" because if you pretend to be something you're not, you'll get dumped as soon as the other person realizes you're not what you pretended to be.

4. Mar 31, 2013 #3
    Why is improving ones social skills and being oneself mutually exclusive?

5. Mar 31, 2013 #4

WannabeNewton

Science Advisor