1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The Glass is Half Full

1. May 14, 2008 #1

As of this week, I have left graduate school. I just completed my first year as an Astrophysics Ph.D. student, but between financial constraints and general unease within my program, I have decided to go another direction.

I have a bachelors in Physics, and I have interned at Kitt Peak National Observatory in Tucson, AZ. I have worked as staff with the LSST (Large Synoptic Survey Telescope) development team. In graduate school, I was using VLA (Very Large Array) data to study AGNs (Active Galactic Nuclei). I am now looking to go into the business side of science, rather than the research side. Scientific research just wasn't my cup of tea. However, I have zero business experience and no business courses to back me up. I am interested in pursuing sales or marketing as it relates to my scientific background (so, for example, working as a sales rep for Toshiba, selling MRI units).

Anyway, my question is this: What's my best course of action for gaining a background in business? Going back to undergrad for three or four years to earn a bachelors in business or a similar field is likely not an option. Taking supplementary business courses, though, while working part time may be an option. How do I approach taking supplementary courses? I really don't know how undergrad works if I'm not technically pursuing a degree. How would I add supplementary business courses to my CV in order to show potential employers that I have the business background, without a degree?

Thank you for any help or suggestions!
  2. jcsd
  3. May 14, 2008 #2