The mass of a photon in motion

In summary, the mass of a photon is zero and the formula for kinetic energy, E = (1/2) mv^2, does not apply in the relativistic world. Instead, the total energy of the particle can be calculated using the formula E = mc^2γ and the kinetic energy can be calculated using the formula K = mc^2γ - mc^2 = mc^2(γ-1), where γ is the Lorentz factor. However, for speeds much smaller than the speed of light, the formula for kinetic energy can be approximated as K ≈ (1/2)mv^2.
Krushnaraj Pandya
Gold Member

Homework Statement

Find the mass of photon in motion.

Homework Equations

E=hf
p=hf/c

The Attempt at a Solution

I just started studying modern physics and am aware of the above two equations. However equating E to 1/2mv^2 gives a different (wrong) answer while equating p to mv gives the correct expression when we consider v=c; is it wrong to write E=1/2 mv^2 or p=mv for a photon (something to do with relativity perhaps)?
I'd appreciate some insights, thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
Could it be you accidentally discovered that ##E=mc^2 ## :wink: ? Or did someone provide you with the correct answer and spoiled it for you ?

By the way, there will be theoreticians who object against abusing the term 'mass' in this manner. (I'm not a theoretician :rolleyes:)

Last edited:
BvU said:
Could it be you accidentally discovered that ##E=mc^2 ## :wink: ? Or did someone provide you with the correct answer and spoiled it for you ?

By the way, there will be theoreticians who object against abusing the teerm 'mass' in this manner. (I'm not a theoretician :rolleyes:)