1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The meaning of HUP

1. Jul 14, 2011 #1
    Greeting to everyone. This is my first time here (A bit nervous)

According to many sources, many books, "Heisenberg uncertainty principle" tells us that it is impossible to measure anything exactly. I agree as the proving equation does not apply any measuring instrument at all which means that even the best measuring instrument will never gives us exactly measuring.

Now comes to the problem. Does the HUP only applied when there is measuring ?
    I have two opinion about this:
    1. We can not measure anything exactly which means nothing is certain at all.
    2. Although we can not measure/predict anything exactly, everything is certain.

Thank you very much.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 14, 2011 #2

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

I was JUST thinking about asking this myself. I believe the mainstream view is that no particle has a 100% definite position and momentum at any point in time, but I really don't know why that is believed to be the case.

4. Jul 14, 2011 #3
    Thank you very much for fast reply

"no particle has a 100% definite position and momentum at any point in time"
    I'm not sure about this (need some more explanation)

All I've read, HUP only told me that we can't measure two values exactly at the same time. So if we don't measure momentum, we can know the exact position. Or if we don't measure position, we can know the exact momentum of the particle. So there might be exact position OR momentum for the particle depends on how we measure.

Is my understanding wrong ?

5. Jul 14, 2011 #4

WannabeNewton

Science Advisor