Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The Physics Behind Bungee Jumping

1. Mar 18, 2004 #1
    Hey, this is my first time on the forum and I have to do a project about bungee jumping.

I need to talk about Hooke's Law, calculate The Conservation of Energy and the Conservation of Momentum...

I know that F=k*x, but I am still a little unsure on how to relate it to bungee jumping.

Assuming that there is no loss of energy due to friction, air resistance etc etc, I am confused on how the conservation of momentum and conservation of energy relate to bungee jumping. I would like to know how to calculate these topics for bungee jumping.

Of course, this is my homework, so I am not expecting you to do it for me, although it would be a great help!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 18, 2004 #2
    Before you jump, you're at a certain height above the ground. We can attribute to this height a certain amount of potential energy. When you jump off, this energy starts to be converted into kinetic energy, and you speed up while you fall. Then the bungee cord kicks in and starts transforming the kinetic energy and potential energy to elastic energy, which is stored in the cord and why it stretches. Once you stop, most (hopefully there'll still be SOME left so you don't smash into the ground) of the potential energy and all of the kinetic energy (hence, stopped) has been converted to elastic energy.

It's all about the energy! If you idealize your world enough, the calculations are pretty simple, too.

Does that help?

4. Mar 18, 2004 #3
    Yes! Thankyou!

Potential = m*g*h (mass * gravity * height) ?
    Kinetic = 0.5 * m * v^2 (mass * velocity^2) ?
    Elastic potential = ???
  5. Mar 18, 2004 #4
    [tex]\textrm{Elastic Energy} = \frac{1}{2}kx^2[/tex]
    where k is an empirically determined constant and x is the displacement off of the rest position of the cord.