Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The Semiconductor Industry

1. Dec 27, 2011 #1
    I'm extremely interested in semiconductor devices (MOSFETs, BJTs, diodes, etc) and I plan on pursuing a career in this field. However, what I am contemplating is whether or not it would be beneficial to pursue a masters before attempting to get into the semiconductor industry, or if a BE is suffice? I obviously want to excel in whatever line of work I am a part of.

I'm currently in my second year, and I most definitely have the marks to get into a graduate program (if it would be beneficial). Any advice from those a part of the EE community is greatly appreciated.

:)

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 27, 2011 #2
    You sound quite certain you have found your field of interest
    And going back to school after wroking for several years is not easy.
    So I would say get your Masters first and then begin the career.
    I did that. And I decided the PhD was not needed unless I wanted to teach and do research. It worked for me. I was always glad I had that MS under my belt.

4. Dec 28, 2011 #3
    I think in that line of work, a masters would definitely help. You may want to consider a condensed matter physics / material science masters program to get a really good understanding of that industry outside of the abstracted EE layer, but then focus your undergrad EE electives in mixed signal/digital design/FPGA and VLSI courses.

In my grad physics course we studied all of the semiconductor physics and then also all of the technology and processes used such as all of the deposition/implantation techniques, lithography, and the czochralski process.

But it also depends on the specific school you're going to. Some EE programs offer courses that are very indepth into semiconductor physics, while others rely on a physics department to teach that stuff.

Last edited: Dec 28, 2011