Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The size of the universe

1. Sep 11, 2003 #1
    How big is the universe? This has been really bugging me since I read an article that said it was 30 billion light years across. This, however, did not seem possible to me, if the universe is about 8 billion years old, then isn't the maximum size the universe could be 16 billion light years across? I am complete novice in the field of physics, feel free to make fun of my stupidity but please in the process teach me something.
    /wants to learn

blhack

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 11, 2003 #2

marcus

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2015 Award
    Dearly Missed

try this article by a professional cosmologist
    it is not a popularization but it is pretty understandable and
    has clear diagrams of the past, present, future size of the observable universe
    gives the standard conventional view that has come to be shared by a lot of experts

http://arxiv.org/astro-ph/0305159

it is 34 pages PDF so takes a little while to download but worth it.

consensus view is that the universe did not start out at a point
    but was already extensive at time zero
    so there is not estimated upper bound on universe size
    but there is an OBSERVABLE piece of it, which we can estimate the
    size of

the most distant objects whose light is now reaching us are at this moment how many lightyears away? (they are farther away now than when they emitted the light that is now reaching us)
    Lineweaver's article will tell you what the consensus view is on that. It is, if I recall correctly, around 40 billion light years.

So that is the radius of the universe which we are currently able to observe.

Hmm I just checked Lineweaver's figure 1 on page 6.
    He says 47 billion light years for the current radius of the observable universe.