Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The Whittaker metric

1. Apr 18, 2007 #1
    I am interested in considering slowly rotating perturbations of the Whittaker metric. Unfortunately I have very little knowledge of this metric. Could someone help me with the exact form of this metric and maybe where to get more material? I understand this may be out of place here but...
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 18, 2007 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

J. M. Whittaker,
    An Interior Solution in General Relativity
    Proceedings of the Royal Society of London. Series A, Mathematical and Physical Sciences (1934-1990)
    ISSN: 0080-4630
    Issue: Volume 306, Number 1484 / July 30, 1968

has links to other papers that reference it.

http://www.jstor.org/view/00804630/di002761/00p00437/0 [via JSTOR]

lists additional citations.
  4. Apr 18, 2007 #3

Chris Hillman

Science Advisor

Wont' say!

Well, a moment with Google yields the paper http://arxiv.org/abs/gr-qc/9910001, from which it seems that the so-called Whittaker metrics are obtained from the coframe (first covector field timelike, rest spacelike, all pairwise orthogonal)
    [tex] \sigma^1 = -\sqrt{1+2 \, h(r,\theta)} \, A(r) \, dt[/tex]
    [tex] \sigma^2 = \sqrt{1+2 \, m(r,\theta)} \, B(r) \, dr[/tex]
    [tex] \sigma^3 = \sqrt{1 + 2 \, k(r,\theta)} \, C(r) \, d\theta[/tex]
    [tex] \sigma^4 = \sin(\theta) \, \left( d\theta + (\Omega - \omega(r)) \, dt) \right) [/tex]
    [tex] g = -\sigma^1 \otimes \sigma^1 + \sigma^2 \otimes \sigma^2
    + \sigma^3 \otimes \sigma^3 + \sigma^4 \otimes \sigma^4 [/tex]
    I believe the motivation is Hartle's approximation scheme for slowly rotating axisymmetric fluid balls in gtr, you can look up the citations they give and see if any of the earlier papers clarify this.