1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The whole point of college?

1. Feb 5, 2007 #1
    So, I currently attend Texas A&M in college station and im a sophomore majoring in computer science in pretty good standing i suppose with a 3.659 gpa. My question is, is it really even necessary for me to attend this school when i could be going to a cheaper school back in my hometown of dallas tx? I mean i am learning pretty much everything on my own out of the books anyways and im just using the professors help when i have a few questions. Class is great but it seems like we are not doing enough. I have barely had any projects to turn in and so i mostly do a lot of outside projects to hone my skills. I am going to school not to make some ground breaking discoveries or anything, i just want to graduate and get a good job. I know A&M isnt the top school for anything however it does have a very good reputation for engineering. People tell me that if i stay here i will get a great job upon graduation however if i transfer back home that i will only get an ok job. For example, i was thinking about transfering to UTD. I thought it will be what i can do and show in the interview that matters but i am not even totally sure. So would it be wise to come back home and go to school for a lot cheaper? Plus i hear UTD is pretty good school for computer science.

Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 5, 2007 #2

verty

Homework Helper

Get the piece of paper. That gets you to the interview. Once you're in the interview, it doesn't matter anymore.

4. Feb 5, 2007 #3