1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Theoretical Physicist

1. Mar 26, 2009 #1
    I'm a freshman at Amherst College in my first college physics course (actually an E&M course). I was doing poorly at first (B-/B) but have gotten into the swing of things and am thoroughly enjoying the theory portion of the class(the experiments are also fun but are sometimes tedious). I have a few questions. What stats would be necessary for admission to CalTech/MIT/Harvard etc. for graduate school as a theoretical physicist (GPA, GRE, research, etc)? I am not sure what grade I will end up with in this class because of the first half of it so will that affect my chances badly as long as it's not a C+ or lower? I've also been doing reading with some theory and although the book is more for laymen, I think it is fascinating.

Thanks for any information.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 27, 2009 #2
    You're going to need very good grades for those graduate programs. It's beyond just that though, each of those programs turn down many 4.0 students with perfect/near-perfect PGRE scores.
    You'll need grades, research, excellent letters of recommendation, and a top notch PGRE score.

If you really enjoy the material, go for it.

4. Mar 27, 2009 #3
  5. Mar 27, 2009 #4