Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Theories of Light

1. Aug 8, 2008 #1
    hey everyone, My names aaron and im a year 12 student studying physics. We have to learn about both the wave and particle theories of light, and i just have a few questions.

I have read that light behaves as if it has a mass, and although we cant actually 'weigh' the light we beleive its mass to be one molecular layer of oleic acid. Im not too sure if i have the terminology correct or not but heres the guts of my question, If the light has a mass, Shouldnt it be affected by gravity?

And if this is true then would the light itself speed up as it gets further away from the sun? I was wondering this because we learnt about gravitational feilds last semester and the further away from the gravitational feild an object is the less force towards the center of the gravitational feild, Therefore shouldnt the light have less force acting on it the further it gets from the sun? And does this mean that the speed of light gets faster the further from the sun it gets?

I apologise if my terminology isn't correct, Im not too sure what acid i made reference too in paragraph 2 is not correct but thats the one that sprang to mind when i thought about it, your answers are appreciated:)

Azza

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 8, 2008 #2
    Hi Azza,

First of all, light definitely does not have mass. In the particle theory where light is described as made of photons, the photons all have zero mass.