Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

There are no coincidences

1. Apr 21, 2006 #1
    Hello, I'm a third year physics student and we've recently touched on some of the Grand Unified Theories, well just mentioned that they exist really. The real problem appears to be uniting gravity with the other 3.

Surely someone has noticed before, that if you let a variable V = 1/(4*pi*G) where G = Gravitational constant, the analogy between electrostatics and gravitation is even clearer. They have exactly the same potential and Poisson's equation where charge and mass become analagous. V would be like a gravitational permeability or something. This can't be coincidence and surely this is a strong hint towards how EM & gravity are linked?

Natski

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 21, 2006 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

But you are ignoring one important aspect - electrostatic is a small subset of a LARGER encompassing theory of electromagnetism.

While the field equation for electrostatic looks similar to the field equation for classical gravity, electrostatic is part of a larger theoretical development of classical E&M. You are forgetting the "magnetic" part that is so intrinsically linked to the "electro" part. So now, when you look at the magnetic field equation, and the Maxwell equation as a whole, you'll see where the similarty ends.

Moral of the story: you can't just say that since the tails of two different animals look similar, then it must be the same type of animal.

Zz.

4. Apr 21, 2006 #3
    I see your point, but I also would argue that although indeed electrostatics is a special case of electromagnetism, so gravity could also be a special case of a wider theory. If all the forces can be combined through one of the GUTs, then gravity and electromagnetism will indeed be the same 'animal' anyway.

5. Apr 21, 2006 #4