1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Thermodynamics vs Algorithms

1. Aug 4, 2007 #1
    Hello

I'm a sophomore in Electrical Engineering. This semester I have to choose between a course on Thermodynamics and a course on Data Structures and Algorithms. I have a deep interest in physics and thermodynamics seems quite interesting to me. But I am also interested in quantum computing, which seems to have some overlap with algorithms and complexity theory. Which course should I take?

Thanks for your help.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 4, 2007 #2

siddharth

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hi maverick,

Which department is offering the thermodynamics course? And do you know the contents of the course?

Because they can vary quite a bit. For example, the Mech/Aero department could focus more on applications in IC engines, compressors, pumps and flow processes while a Chem/Materials Eng department would focus on applications in reactors, phase equilibria, solution thermodynamics and reactions.

4. Aug 4, 2007 #3
    and the physics departement could be too much theoretical for you. (-:

5. Aug 4, 2007 #4
    Are the classes prerequisities for anything else you want to take? If both the courses are equally attractive you might just pick whichever one has the bettter teacher.

6. Aug 5, 2007 #5