Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

This petition is for physicists

1. Oct 26, 2005 #1
    http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2005/10/051026083447.htm

I don't know if you can still sign it, but it looks great:

This may belong in politics due to bits like this:

Petition is here:
    http://physics.ucsd.edu/petition/

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 26, 2005 #2

Danger

Gold Member

Those idiots get scarier by the minute! I wish that I was a physicist just so I could sign.

4. Oct 26, 2005 #3
    I think that we should keep our options open, in case that there is a certain time where we would need to do so for whatever reason, a reason which I cannot think of at the moment....

5. Oct 26, 2005 #4
    Damnit! I can't sign for another 7 and a half years!

6. Oct 26, 2005 #5
    I don't see why the opinions of a physicist are more valuable than anyone else's in this subject...

7. Oct 26, 2005 #6
    There is a section to sign for non-Physicist.

8. Oct 26, 2005 #7
    :)

In a sense they aren't, but when you earn your advanced physics degree (go for it!) things will look a little different.

I am sure you can find some petitions to sign that don't require a physics degree.

And also to everyone - even if you can't sign it, you can always forward it to any physics faculty you know of. They will be impressed.

9. Oct 26, 2005 #8

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Skimming through that list, I found a large number of big names in physics :
    Bardeen, Witten, Weinberg, Leggett, Osheroff, Georgi, Tsui, Ceperley, Wilczek, Jackiw, Halperin, Anderson, Kleppner, Peshkin, Marder, Merzbacher...

...and about half my department faculty...

...also, easily over a hundred names were of physicists in/from India !

Last edited: Oct 26, 2005
  10. Oct 26, 2005 #9

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member