Thread Moved to HW Forums: Seeking Clarification on Infraction and Forum Rules

• Complaint
  • Thread starter somasimple
  • Start date
somasimple
Gold Member
Hi all,

1/ I'm a not a student and I'm not actually following any courses.
2/ I created a thread with personal figures in the classics physics forums, seeking an answer from experts as usually.
3/ The thread was moved to the HW forums.
4/ I received an infraction for some unknown reason by ZaperZ.
5/ And this moderator refuses to move back the thread to the right forum.
6/ I want the thread to be moved back since I'm not a student and do not want their rules to be applied to a normal and not HW or course question.
7/ I want the infraction to be removed since I did no infraction.

Regards.

Here is a proof the topic was moved by someone.

Attachments

• Classical Physics Forum.pdf
    176.6 KB · Views: 270
Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
The rules state that any question of homework or coursework style must be posted in the homework forum, regardless of whether it is actually homework for a class, or part of your own independent study. That is why your thread was moved.

You received a warning (which is different from an infraction) as is standard practice when coursework-style questions are posted in the wrong place. This is just a way to point to the rules and to keep a record of it: warnings carry no points, and therefore do not put you in danger of receiving a ban.

Are you saying that a member is unable to post a subject that looks like a HW problem?
How this member is able to know his subject looks like a HW problem?

BTW, there are tons of subjects that aren't moved but are classroom HW problems:
an example:
https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=427243
In class today, my professor said that you will never find a force that is a function of acceleration.

Why is this?

MLaTeX Code: \\ddot{x} (t) = F(x,y,z,LaTeX Code: \\dot{x},\\dot{y},\\dot{z} ,t)