Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Time dilation confusions

1. Feb 28, 2015 #1
    Hello! I have some confusions about this topic, I'm a physics newbie so my question may have no sense, please have mercy ;). It's supossed that relativity only considers observation as valid "what we see", but observation it's independant of what we know (we can't tell how distant we are from different objects without previous information, we need another relative system for that). Does this mean that relative observation is bidimensional? If so, it would be impossible to calculate absolute parameters whithout changing the observation point? If so the speed of light would be actually slower for some observers right? This thought has got me really intrigued.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 28, 2015 #2

wabbit

Gold Member

What specifically are you referring to ? "It's supposed that relativity..." doesn't make that clear, is this a statement you found somewhere? A link would be helpful.

4. Feb 28, 2015 #3
    That in a relative system our observed parameters are different vs another relative system. For example, for observation we can only tell that the sun is a point moving on a plane, it's impossible for us to tell how far the sun is without absolute information.

5. Feb 28, 2015 #4

ChrisVer

Gold Member

I don't understand what you mean by "bidimensional" observation.
    What are you observing?