Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Time theories?

1. Apr 8, 2015 #1
    I'm new to Astrophysics but some scientists say that all time is happening at one time. How is this possible if the universe is still expanding

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 8, 2015 #2

Chronos

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

What scientists? Do you have a credible source for this claim?

4. Apr 8, 2015 #3

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

The statement "all time is happening at one time" doesn't seem to make any sense. As Chronos asked, please post a reference.

5. Apr 8, 2015 #4
    Are you referring to imaginary time? All imaginary time occurs in the present. If you think of regular time, where you can move forward into the future, or backward into the past, then imaginary time would allow you to move left or right through time, but only in the present.

6. Apr 8, 2015 #5

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

What does "left or right through time" mean ?

7. Apr 8, 2015 #6
    That is if you consider time as every "NOW" slice; then the PAST, PRESENT and FUTURE exists at any moment. Someone who is, suppose 1 million light years away, just suppose, and is moving towards us / away from us, then THEIR "NOW" slice will be directed at our PAST or FUTURE. Therefore from this you can conclude theoretically that every slice of time is in a "NOW" slice and that the PAST and FUTURE is just an illusion which works within space-time, and everything is in "NOW" or PRESENT state, and including PAST and FUTURE that we believe.

8. Apr 8, 2015 #7
    Something like Interstellar? I admit, I'm equally confused.

9. Apr 8, 2015 #8

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

I haven't seen Interstellar, and I don't take my physics from movies so that doesn't clear things up.

10. Apr 8, 2015 #9
    I think "left or right" as in past and future?

11. Apr 8, 2015 #10

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award