Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Time travel

1. May 15, 2003 #1
    I'm new to the topic of theoretical physics so can someone fill me in is it possible to go back in time and go to the future?

because say Joe is from the future, and he goes to the pass and kill's his younger version. will he instantly disappear?

oh yeah btw, it struck me, parallel universes, how do they exist?

2. jcsd
  3. May 15, 2003 #2
    the Einstein's theory of relativity show me the time can't move back
    so i think go back is impossible
    but go to future is possible
    because when you moving with light speed
    your time will stop, and you will be live 1000...year
    this is future

4. May 15, 2003 #3
    1. No, it is not possible to travel through time. It is completely and totally impossible, it's just a sci-fi idea that will NEVER happen. That's that.

2. If you want to see proof of paralell universes I URGE YOU to go to the store and get the newest copy of SCIENTIFIC AMERICAN which says in big letters PARALELL UNIVERSES on the cover. It's about 6 bucks and WELL WORTH IT. It's amazing how easily it is to prove they exist.

5. May 15, 2003 #4
    Time travel is only based on reletivity. That may be useful in normal situations, but is this a normal situation? We are talking about reversing all of the reletivistic veiws to point in the opposite direction of what they were before. This is what I call 'total time dialation.'
    Another way to change time is to slow your 'time experience' to make the reletivistic veiw of everybody around you move faster and, basicallly speed up their time reletivistically to your time feild.
    this is what I call reletivistic time dialation.

6. May 15, 2003 #5
    No, it's not possible. See the first post in: Why We Can't Go Back

7. May 15, 2003 #6