1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

To be a cosmologist

1. May 15, 2015 #1
    hello. i am a bachelor student (physics)
    i am interested in astrophysics and general relativity.
    i will go to the united states or european countries to study astrophysics.
    although my school does not teach general relativity, i have studied them by myself.
    there are a lot of students who are interested in astrophysics or cosmology in my school
    (but.. they do not understand several concepts about general relativity).

however, almost students will change their career. this is because many people are worried about getting job and financial problem when they select astrophysics. (my personal opinion is that the problem is not obtaining job or financial problem (of course these are really problematic) but their abilities are crude. to be specific, many students and my friends cannot understand what i say if i try to discuss really easy concepts of general relativity)

frankly to say, i really want to be a theoretical cosmologist or an astrophysicist. however, i am also worried about financial problems and jobs (many professors in my school also indicate me to consider seriously my career again)

my questions are:

1. the problems of financial as well as acquiring job will be really sever after i finish the degree of ph.d astrophysics? (actually i heard that getting job for astrophysics research is very hard because there are only few jobs. however, i want to know them specifically)