To calculate variance and CV from multiple (weighted) variables

In summary, the conversation discusses the calculation of weighted sum of variables in order to determine the variance and coefficient of variation (CV) of measured values in the network traffic field. The process involves obtaining mean and variance values over a period of time and using equations (1) and (2) to determine the mean and variance of the weighted sum. The CV can then be calculated using equation (3). The speaker is seeking feedback or suggestions for additional sources for references.
sumetp
Hello everybody,

My name is Sumet. I am studying in network traffic field. My background in statistic is not so strong; however, I have to calculate weighted sum of variables in order to determine variance and coefficient of variation (CV) of measured values. Please see the following descriptions. Any comments or suggestions for solution or suggestions for additional sources for references are very appreciated. Thank you.

Let Xi is a random variable of the measured value of something at the ith second. And Wi=Ni/[tex]\sum[/tex]Ni, where Ni is the number of values obtain from measurement in the ith second.

Among Ni values, E[Xi] and var[Xi] are mean and variance of Xi (calculated and recorded in the ith second), respectively.

Over time T seconds, we obtain E[X1], E[X2],... ,E[XT], Var[X1], Var[X2], ..., and Var[XT].

Next, weighted sum of variables, [tex]\sum[/tex]WiXi, will be focused. It is clear that mean (over time T) of mean of Xi can be determined from

E[[tex]\sum[/tex]WiXi]=[tex]\sum[/tex](WiE[Xi]), for all i=1,2,3,...,T. ------------ (1)​

But, in many references, there is no clear description for determination of variance (over time T) of mean of Xi; they just say that

Var[aX+bY] = a2Var[X] + b2Var[Y] + 2abCov(X,Y).​