Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

To prove a theory correct?

1. Oct 15, 2003 #1
    Hi guys, just seeking opinions and discussion,

As I am new to the realms of conventional physics I just thought I'd ask a question to help me understand the processes.

To prove a theory correct means that you have to prove every one elses theories wrong. Is this a true statement?

If so then most of the theoretical work you have to do is pulling other theories apart and disproving them.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 15, 2003 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

No.
    No.

The vast majority of new theoretical work builds on existing theories. If only at the most basic level, a new theory MUST start with some existing theory.

4. Oct 17, 2003 #3
    A good describtion of a theory is here:

http://www.wilstar.net/theories.htm

Also: http://www.m-w.com/cgi-bin/dictionary?book=Dictionary&va=hypothesis

So, theories can be wrong but then a lot of former proof needs to be falsified or explained in a logical different way. Most of the time theories are just refined. Some theories can be questioned but are usually well protected by skeptics.

5. Oct 17, 2003 #4
    Just to put in some aspect that you're theory should have: it should comply with and explain some observed behaviour. In other words it has to agree with experiments. Setting up a theory that shows that superconductors can't exist is obviously a dumb theory since I can show you a superconductor in my lab.

6. Oct 17, 2003 #5
    and if you didn't have a superconductor in your lab? You wouldn't know whether it was dumb or not.

7. Oct 18, 2003 #6
    So theories have to comply with and explain some observed behaviour and would have to agree with experiments.

Now what if a theory is not agreeing with experiments, would it be falsified?

8. Oct 19, 2003 #7

krab

Science Advisor