Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Tobacco Extractions

1. Sep 24, 2011 #1
    Hi. I enjoy gardening as a hobby, mainly nicotiana (ornamental tobacco) and medicinal uses of plants. I am not a professional chemist.

Recently I have learned that uncured tobacco contains compounds called cembranoids and that these may have profound medical uses.

http://www.ulm.edu/universityrelations/news/july11/anticancer.html
    http://www.iupac.org/publications/pac/pdf/1990/pdf/6207x1353.pdf

What I am curious about is how to isolate these compounds, in as practical way as possible, without extracting nicotine. I have heard that most of the nicotine is contained inside the leaf especially the upper leaves, so the flower calyxes are desired to avoid nicotine and are also the most resinous parts of the plant (and thus contain more terpenoids). Since nicotine is water soluble I imagine that soaking the material in water for a time to remove nicotine and then doing an extraction would work. I don't think that would be enough though and I know full well the dangers of nicotine. Shocked

Also in the resin exudate of tobacco would probably be N-Hydroxyacylnornicotine (a selective toxin to hornworm larvae), which interests me but also would need to be removed. I doubt that it is very toxic or carcinogenic to humans, since nicotine metabolites like nornicotine are much less potent (tobacco field workers get covered in the resins regularly). But I would like to know more information.

N-Hydroxyacylnornicotine: http://www.plantphysiol.org/content/82/2/479.full.pdf

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 24, 2011 #2

chemisttree

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Coming up with a workable scheme for the isolation and purification of natural products is not an armchair activity! The patent has the following information.

That's just how I'd do it!

4. Sep 24, 2011 #3

turbo