Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Too late for summer research?

1. Jun 30, 2010 #1
    Is it too late to find summer research volunteer opportunities? I just finished my undergrad freshman year in California but am spending my summer in Seattle. Because I started college as a second semester student, I do not have much 'direct' physics experience and I imagine it will be difficult to find research projects that could me. Most of the physical science research in Seattle is done through the University of Washington, which got out a few weeks ago. Is it still worthwhile to solicit myself to UW physics researchers, and does anyone know of any research done around Seattle with other institutions? If not, what would be a worthwhile academic use of my summer?

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 30, 2010 #2
    Too late indeed. Most students apply for research positions in the winter semester. But that doesn't mean you can't do something useful; have you considered self-study?

4. Jun 30, 2010 #3
  5. Jun 30, 2010 #4
    agree with it being too late, and the self- studying idea. Perhaps take a hand at learning a programming language. Useful, and plenty of resources for self-study.

6. Jun 30, 2010 #5
    UW stands for University of Wisconsin, not Washington!

7. Jun 30, 2010 #6

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2017 Award

Not if you are in Seattle.

8. Jun 30, 2010 #7
    Irrelevant.

9. Jul 2, 2010 #8
    Thanks for the advice you guys. What methods of self-study do you recommend? Unfortunately I am not able to sit in on many classes because I work during those hours.

10. Jul 2, 2010 #9
    i think it depends on what topic you intend on studying - but all topics require dedication and forcing yourself to learn a little something everyday

11. Jul 2, 2010 #10