Top graduate school admission.

In summary, the conversation discusses the requirements and difficulty of getting accepted into a top graduate school for theoretical or experimental physics. It is mentioned that having a strong GPA, stellar recommendations, and research experience are important factors. Additionally, doing a UROP and having a well-rounded background can also be beneficial. There is a discussion about the correlation between GPA and admission to prestigious institutions, and the importance of not obsessing over getting into a big name school. Overall, it is advised to focus on doing good work and not worry too much about the difficulty of acceptance to graduate school.
6eecs
Hello,

I am an undergraduate currently studying at MIT, and I have read zapper's thread on the path of the academic physicist.

I was wondering, however, what it REALLY takes to get accepted into a top institution for theoretical physics OR experimental physics. Reference to specific statistics will be helpful (as in, what kind of average GPA did Harvard theoretical physics grad students have?...).

I am asking this question because I see that while quite a lot of MIT graduates are accepted to top graduate school (the most common acceptances are MIT, Caltech, harvard, Berkeley...), I also heard that getting into a top physics grad school for theoretical physics involves pretty much getting a perfect GPA in math/physics+ stellar recommendations+ research publications/experience. I was wondering, is there such a large gap in difficulty for theoretical physics compared to engineering acceptance? Are the rumors about such difficulty exaggerated? What kind of GPA/qualifications will make you pretty sure you will land at at top grad school? (pretty sure for me is ~70%)

If someone can illuminate how difficult acceptance to grad school really is, that would be helpful.

THanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
6eecs said: