Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Topic central to GR and Statistical Mechanics

1. Jun 18, 2015 #1
    Hello!
    I am a master student, and I am about to start working on my master thesis, which, in my counrty, is a substantial work of 6 months which usually involves original research.

I will be supervised by two professors of Statistical Mechanics, who have many research interest. In these days, we have to start talking about the topic of my thesis.

I would like to be able to propose them a topic which is connected to General Relativity or Cosmology, or even Particle Physics. I have read around the Internet but I have not been able to find something which I could really propose as a topic.

I had thoug about something like Statistical Mechanics- Phase transitions- Spontaneous symmetry breaking, but I am not able to find, say, a review to become enough knowledgeable to talk to my professors.

I continue to read that Statistical Mechanics is very often used in General Relativity and Cosmology, but I cannot see precisely why.

Can please anyhone help me?
    Thanks in advance!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 18, 2015 #2

DEvens

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

I seem to recall that phase transitions are a very hard problem in stat mech. Or maybe it is one particular kind of phase transition? I seem to recall there is an anecdote where Feynman gave a talk on his work in stat mech and finished by saying the only thing he was confused about was how to express phase transitions. (Maybe of this one particular kind.) And the famous guy from stat mech stands up and says that nobody can do it.

So what I'm saying is, be sure you are not promising to bring home the Holy Grail for your master's thesis.