1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Toppling of a box

1. Apr 18, 2014 #1

adjacent

Gold Member

I don't know if "toppling" is even a word.:uhh:

This is not a homework,just a question.
    https://www.physicsforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=68762&stc=1&d=1397811697
    If I apply a force at A,the box will topple and fall.(Probably because of friction)
    If I apply a force at B,the box will move(Probably because the force overcame the friction)

What's causing it? Torque?
    As the distance increase,the effect of force on friction decreases but why?

P.S I am a Grade 10 student.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 18, 2014 #2

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

'toppling' is the present participle of the verb 'to topple', just like 'running' is the present participle of the verb 'to run'.

What can you say about the location of A or B w.r.t. the center of gravity of the box?

4. Apr 18, 2014 #3
    There is a problem with the attachment, I cannot see the picture. Generally, it is safe to say that "toppling" involves torque.

5. Apr 18, 2014 #4

adjacent

Gold Member

attachment.php?attachmentid=68767&stc=1&d=1397814593.png
    Here is the image.

I don't think this problem involves Center of Gravity.When I push B,the box does not topple at all.

Attached Files:

• too.png
      too.png
      File size:
      398 bytes
      Views:
  6. Apr 18, 2014 #5
    If the force at B is great enough, the box will topple. Counter-clockwise.

7. Apr 18, 2014 #6

Radarithm

Gold Member

When you apply the torque at the bottom, there is friction to oppose it (I think).
    When you apply it to the top (A), there is no friction to oppose it except air resistance.
    Are the forces equal?