• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products via PF Here!

Toppling of a box

• Thread starter adjacent
  • Start date

adjacent

Gold Member
I don't know if "toppling" is even a word.:uhh:

This is not a homework,just a question.
https://www.physicsforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=68762&stc=1&d=1397811697
If I apply a force at A,the box will topple and fall.(Probably because of friction)
If I apply a force at B,the box will move(Probably because the force overcame the friction)

What's causing it? Torque?
As the distance increase,the effect of force on friction decreases but why?

P.S I am a Grade 10 student.

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
'toppling' is the present participle of the verb 'to topple', just like 'running' is the present participle of the verb 'to run'.

What can you say about the location of A or B w.r.t. the center of gravity of the box?

There is a problem with the attachment, I cannot see the picture. Generally, it is safe to say that "toppling" involves torque.

adjacent

Gold Member
attachment.php?attachmentid=68767&stc=1&d=1397814593.png

Here is the image.

I don't think this problem involves Center of Gravity.When I push B,the box does not topple at all.

Attachments

If the force at B is great enough, the box will topple. Counter-clockwise.

Radarithm

Gold Member
attachment.php?attachmentid=68767&stc=1&d=1397814593.png

Here is the image.

I don't think this problem involves Center of Gravity.When I push B,the box does not topple at all.
When you apply the torque at the bottom, there is friction to oppose it (I think).
When you apply it to the top (A), there is no friction to oppose it except air resistance.
Are the forces equal?

EDIT: the reason the friction decreases as the distance increases is because of kinetic friction being less effective than static friction.

adjacent

Gold Member
If the force at B is great enough, the box will topple. Counter-clockwise.