1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Torus pressure vessel stress

1. Nov 12, 2005 #1
    I am a novice at stress analysis. For my competition, I need to calculate the stress on a torus in vacuum filled with air at pressure P.

Here's is what I have managed to do. I have attached an image below.

The torus section is an angular section of a curved cylinder. Its angular dimensions are [tex]d\psi[/tex] in reference to the torus cross section at an angle [tex]\psi[/tex] to the horizontal and [tex]d\theta[/tex] in reference to the center of the torus. The major radius of the torus is R and the minor Radius is r.

Summing the forces in the radial direction
    [tex]
    \displaystyle\frac{1}{2}(r+dr)d\psi[R-rcos(\psi+d\psi)+R-rcos\psi]d\theta*\sigma_r - \displaystyle\frac{1}{2}dr[R-rcos(\psi+d\psi)+R+drcos\psi-rcos(\psi+d\psi)]d\theta*\sigma_{t1}+\displaystyle\frac{1}{2}\pi[(r+dr)^2-r^2]d\theta*\sigma_{t2}=0
    [/tex]

Here [tex]\sigma_{t1}[/tex] is the tangential stress with reference to the cross section of the torus and [tex]\sigma_{t2}[/tex] is the tangential stress with reference to the center of the torus and [tex]\sigma_r[/tex] is the radial stress.
    [tex]
    \displaystyle\frac{1}{2}(r+dr)d\psi[R-rcos(\psi+d\psi)+R-rcos\psi]d\theta[/tex] is the area between [tex]R_{rt}[/tex] and [tex]R_{rb}[/tex](See figure)
    [tex]
    \displaystyle\frac{1}{2}dr[R-rcos(\psi+d\psi)+R+drcos\psi-rcos(\psi+d\psi)]d\theta[/tex] is the area between [tex]R_{rt}[/tex] and [tex]R_{lt}[/tex]

Am I correct upto this point? If I am, how do I process further?

Attached Files:

• 1.JPG
      1.JPG
      File size:
      25.1 KB
      Views:
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 12, 2005 #2
    Can anyone help please?

4. Nov 12, 2005 #3

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor