Advice for Sean's PhD Journey in the UK

• Programs
  • Thread starter feely
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Phd Uk
In summary, Sean is currently pursuing a non-Honours degree in electrical engineering and wants to work towards a PhD in physics. His original plan was to transfer to a Honours engineering degree, then possibly a masters in physics and then a PhD. However, he discovered that some universities offer a postgrad diploma that only requires a non-Honours degree and can lead to an MSc with a research element. Someone suggested that this route may not be the best and Sean is considering transferring to an Honours course, even though it would mean a few extra years at the undergraduate level. He also mentions the possibility of research council funding requiring a minimum 2(i) undergrad grade. Sean's current college does not offer a Honours course in his
feely
Hello,

I am looking for some advice.

I am currently studying towards a non-Honours degree in electrical engineering. I would like to work towards a PhD in physics. My original plan was to finish my current degree, transfer across to a honours engineering degree, them maybe to a maters in physics and then to a PhD.

However, as I was checking out different university sites, I seen that there was some that offered a postgrad diploma which only needed a non honours degree to get a place. From there you could (it seems, if you do well) get onto the MSc (the only difference between the PGDip and the MSc is the MSc has a research element!).

However, when I explained this to someone, they seemed to think that this would be a bad route to take, that I would be better trying to get onto an honours course etc. But this will mean an extra few years at an undergrad level.

Does anyone have any ideas, thoughts on the non-honours -> PGDip -> MSc -> PhD route?

Thanks

Sean

Physics news on Phys.org