1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Transfer from UK to US

1. Jul 16, 2010 #1
    Hi,

I have just completed the first year of my undergraduate Physics degree at Imperial College. (To be accurate, I have not sat for three of my exams in June. I am an international student and I had a problem with my visa, so I had to leave the UK. I will sit those exams in September.)

As I am an international student, I will have to pay 20k every year on top of my living costs. This is a huge investment for someone like me who's from an underdeveloped country.

For this reason, I am wanting to transfer to an university in the US since US universities offer scholarships to students.

I am wondering whether I should continue at my present university. Is an Imperial education worth its tuition fees? Can I be sure that I will get a net return from this investment?

Or shall I think of transferring to a US university instead? If so, which institutions would you recommend? My academic performance lies in the top 5-8% of the 230 students in my year group, but I don't perform in any extracurricular activities. I would be grateful if anyone could suggest the universities at the top of the league tables which might accpet my application.

Thanks in advance for any help!!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 16, 2010 #2