Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Traveling through space

1. Oct 11, 2010 #1
    Ok This is my first post and I wanted to first say hello to every one :) Next my knowledge of physics is self taught I am not a student or teacher just a guy that that enjoys this subject and breaking down all the complicated math to huge basic problems any one can do :) lol

Now this question I have has been bothering me lately and I can not find an answer any where I look so I hope someone can help me.

In side our solar system earth and the other planets move around the sun. I have also read that our Galaxy with everything that it contains is rotating around the cosmos (possibly the center of the universe). Now a rocket ship leaves earth for say Mars with people on it. This ship moves in a relatively straight line from point A to point B. Is this rocket ship not effected by the rotation of the Galaxy. If not not what kind of side effects would the people inside suffer upon landing?

This makes sense in my head I hope it does to someone on here :) I will Elaborate a little bit more.

the earth rotates at roughly 66660mph on its axes and around the sun at roughly 67000mph
    and our galaxy rotates at 552 km/s (Speed relative to CMB rest frame Wiki).

Now in our tiny spaceship are we cutting straight through (from point A to point B) and not being effected by everything rotating around us? If so there would (in my mind) be adverse effects on the people inside the ship what would they be ?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 11, 2010 #2

HallsofIvy

Science Advisor

We measure the space ships motion relative to the earth. As long as that is true, the motion of earth and spaceship relative to the rest of the universe, and vice-versa, is not relevant.