Are SEC and CSC functions only used in English?

In summary, Joe has a complicated story of being educated in French but now moving to an English school due to his plans to study astrophysics in Canada. He was surprised to learn about the SEC and CSC functions, which are not used in French. These functions are also used in Scandinavian and Arabic countries, but not in Sweden. Joe also expressed interest in talking with math experts and provided his MSN address. There was a brief exchange of insults between users from Norway and Sweden, and it was mentioned that Lebanon has a French influence and a common Norwegian surname is Lie.
A_I_
hello everyone,
well my story is a bit complicated..
since I've entered school i was french educated,
now I'm in my last year and I'm moving to an english school
and I'm in the field GS (general sciences)
the reason for moving schools is that I'm traveling to Canada next year
to study "astrophysics"..

anyway my question is:
when i was looking at the trigonometry chapter,
i noticed the SEC and the CSC functions
which i discovered their meanings: secx= 1/cosx
and cscx= 1/sinx

and i was astonished because there's no SEC and CSC in french.
i asked grade 11 students in english schools, they told me that they know it
and i asked french educated students in grade 12.. but they don't know it.

are these functions only used in english?

thanks for any help
joe

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!
These function-names are also used in Scandinavia, and in Germany as well, I believe.

And in all the Arabic countries.

thankss

thanks,
you were so cooperative

regards,
joe

im sorry

devious_ said:
And in all the Arabic countries.

i live in lebanon (arabic country)

and we don't use them.

These function-names are also used in Scandinavia, and in Germany as well, I believe.

They are pretty much non-existant in Sweden.

Muzza said:
They are pretty much non-existant in Sweden.