1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Triple star system

1. Mar 16, 2008 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    A certain triple-star system consists of two stars, each of mass m = 7.00×1024kg, revolving about a central star of mass M = 1.69×1030kg in the same circular orbit of radius r = 2.00×1011m(see the figure). The two stars are always at opposite ends of a diameter of the circular orbit. What is the period of revolution of the stars in years(yr)?

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

I know that the equation for period of motion is

T=2*pi*r^3/2 / sqrt (GM)

I'm just not sure if I can plug in values where M is the aggregate of masses M1 and M2..
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 16, 2008 #2
    I'm just a high school physics student, (so I could be wrong), but technically, if the stars are always at opposite ends, aren't the periods of the stars equal to each other? Which would mean using that equation and plugging in the 7E1024 and 1.69E1030 be correct?

Like I said, I could be very very wrong, but this is just my thought on the problem.
  4. Mar 16, 2008 #3

Go back to the basics:

[tex] F = m \frac{v^2}{R} = m \frac{4 \pi^2 R}{T^2} [/tex]
    where here m is the mass of the star that you are focusing on and R is the radius of its orbit.

Now, the force will be the total force acting on that star so it will be the sum of teh force of gravity due to the other two stars. Can you go on from there?
  5. Mar 16, 2008 #4
    ok so the force of gravity is Fg = (GM1M2)/R^2

If total force is what you have above, should I set that equal to 2*(GM1M2)/R^2 -- or the sum of Fg of star1 on central star and star 2 on central star?
  6. Mar 16, 2008 #5